DEECA entities are accountable to their responsible ministers for the functions they perform on behalf of the Victorian Government in managing, regulating, consulting and/or advising in relation to public land, water, energy and environmental resources and planning and local infrastructure.

They perform a valuable service to the Victorian community.

DEECA oversees and supports these entities on behalf of the ministers.

The functions of a DEECA entity are set out in its establishing Act or terms of reference.

Most major DEECA entities have their own website that provides an overview of the agency's functions, copies of annual reports, and other information about the agency.

Major DEECA entities include:


Electric Line Clearance Consultative Committee

Energy Safe Victoria

Victorian Electrolysis Committee.

Waste and Recycling

Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability

Environment Protection Authority

Sustainability Victoria

The 7 Waste and Resource Recovery Groups were abolished on 30 June 2022 under the Circular Economy (Waste Reduction and Recycling) Act 2021. Recycling Victoria commenced operating on 1 July 2022.


Scientific Advisory Committee

Trust for Nature (Victoria)

Public Land

Alpine Advisory Committee

Alpine Resorts Victoria

Marine and Coastal Council

National Parks Advisory Council

Parks Victoria

Reference Areas Advisory Committee

Royal Botanic Gardens Board Victoria

Victorian Environmental Assessment Council

Zoological Parks and Gardens Board

Traditional Owner Land Management

  • Budj Bim Council
  • Dhelkunya Dja Land Management Board
  • Gunaikurnai Traditional Owner Land Management Board
  • Yorta Yorta Traditional Owner Land Management Board
  • Related information: agreements with traditional land owners

Forests Fire and Regions

Great Ocean Road Coast and Parks Authority

Caulfield Racecourse Trust

Committees of Management  (various): In the DEECA portfolio there are approximately 1,000 committees of management established under the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978, the largest of which include:

  • Barwon Coast CoM
  • Bellarine Bayside CoM
  • Phillip Island Nature Park Board of Management
  • Winton Wetlands CoM
  • Working Heritage Inc. (formerly Mint Inc.)

Trustees are appointed under restrictive Crown grants.

There are approximately 35 restricted Crown grants where trustees manage one or more Crown land reserves.

Architects Registration Board of Victoria and Panel List

Building Advisory Council

Building Appeals Board

Building Regulations Advisory Committee

Cladding Safety Victoria

Geographic Place Names Advisory Panel

Growth Areas Infrastructure Contribution Hardship Relief Board

Heritage Council

Planning Application Committee

Plumbing Advisory Council

Registrar of Geographic Names

Royal Exhibition Building World Heritage Area Steering Committee

Surveyors Registration Board of Victoria

Victorian Building Authority

Victorian Planning Authority

In addition, various:

  • planning panels and advisory committees are established under the Planning and Environment Act 1987
  • environmental effects inquiries are established under the Environmental Effects Act 1978.

Catchment management

Catchment Management Authorities

There are 10 catchment management authorities across Victoria:

  • Corangamite Catchment Management Authority
  • East Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
  • Glenelg Hopkins Catchment Management Authority
  • Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority
  • Mallee Catchment Management Authority
  • North Central Catchment Management Authority
  • North East Catchment Management Authority
  • West Gippsland Catchment Management Authority
  • Wimmera Catchment Management Authority
  • Victorian Catchment Management Council.


Water Corporations

There are 18 water corporations servicing Melbourne and regional areas across Victoria:

  • Barwon Region Water Corporation
  • Central Gippsland Region Water Corporation (t/a Gippsland Water)
  • Central Highlands Region Water Corporation
  • Coliban Region Water Corporation
  • East Gippsland Region Water Corporation
  • Gippsland and Southern Rural Water Corporation (t/a Southern Rural Water)
  • Goulburn-Murray Rural Water Corporation (Goulburn-Murray Water)
  • Goulburn Valley Region Water Corporation
  • Grampians Wimmera Mallee Water Corporation
  • Greater Western Water
  • Lower Murray Urban and Rural Water Corporation (t/a Lower Murray Water)
  • Melbourne Water Corporation (Melbourne)
  • North East Region Water Corporation
  • South East Water Corporation (Melbourne)
  • South Gippsland Region Water Corporation
  • Yarra Valley Water Corporation (Melbourne)
  • Wannon Region Water Corporation
  • Westernport Region Water Corporation


  • Victorian Environmental Water Holder
  • Water Supply Protection Area Consultative Committees
  • Birrarung Council
  • Border Groundwater Agreement Review Committee
  • various agencies for example Gippsland Lakes Coordinating Committee

On 1 July 2021, Western Region Water Corporation and City West Water. were integrated, and Greater Western Water was established.

On 1 January 2022, the Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority (PPWCMA) was integrated into Melbourne Water, and PPWCMA ceased to exist.

Page last updated: 19/07/23